MarComedy: Don’t make me laugh

For what tickles my fancy in media, communications and life in general.

Now With 50% More Cynicism

leave a comment »

In my previous post, I wrote about a contest U2 was holding where participants had to search for highlighted letters in banner ads placed on various websites. The letters would form an answer to a question that then qualifies entrants for the grand prize.

I speculated that some of the participating websites would be organizations that represented causes near and dear to U2’s hearts. I felt that, given U2’s(or at least Bono’s) penchant for advocacy, this would be a great awareness-building opportunity.

How wrong I was.

The final list of participating sites has been revealed. It includes Canada’s youth-friendly pseudo-news site Dose, but not a single website to any of U2’s pet causes. In fact, most are news and music site popular among youth and other savvy surfers & music aficionados. I.E. the people who buy U2’s music.

I should have expected this. I gave U2 too much credit and allowed for too much independence. The contest is clearly being driven by the music label and other companies with a stake in the U2 money-making empire.

Despite visiting all the participating sites and refreshing the pages to cycle through the ad inventory, I was unable to find a single example of the banner ads. This disappoints me as I was very interested to know where the banners link to. Guess it’s up to my imagination.

From now on, I promise to not give anyone credit until they’ve earned it. To quote a U2 lyric (only seems appropriate):

It’s no secret that a conscience can sometimes be a pest. It’s no secret that ambition bites the nails of success. Every artist is a cannibal. Every poet is a thief. All kill for inspiration then sing about their grief.

(from The Fly).

Tags: , ,

Powered by Qumana

Written by Jonathan Dunn

October 24, 2006 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

