MarComedy: Don’t make me laugh

For what tickles my fancy in media, communications and life in general.

Private Dunn Reporting For Duty

with 6 comments

  Sean Moffitt over at BuzzCanuck/Agent Wildfire has drafted a list of the top 150 or so (updated: Canadian) marketing/pr/social media/etc bloggers. Even more astounding to me than the vast amount of work that must have gone into this is the fact that I made the list. There are some truly thoughtful and insightful bloggers on the list and it’s a fantastic resource. Not surprisingly, there has been a swell of comments and additional ideas about how to expand and enhance this community. In keeping with the army theme, I’m going to suggest a series of blogging ‘war games’:

  • In light of Strumpette taking Chris Clarke & Joe Thornley to task, is it possible for someone throw themselves on the grenade and get the last word in when conversing with Amanda?
  • Without breaking client confidentiality, what’s the most ‘wow, they just don’t get it’ comment you’ve heard regarding social media/blogging etc…? And how did you respond (if at all)?
  • If you were David Beckham, what would you say on your blog to respond to Colin McKay’s brand analysis?

A few simple ideas. Others welcome, of course.

Tags: , ,

Written by Jonathan Dunn

January 16, 2007 at 11:06 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The list was compiled by somebody else (Todd And).

    But congrats for making the list.

    rshevlin

    January 16, 2007 at 4:13 pm

  2. I was referring to the Canadian version of the list. But thank you for stopping by and pointing that out. I should qualify my statement.

    Jonathan Dunn

    January 16, 2007 at 4:16 pm

  3. Hi Jonathan,

    I don’t think it’s necessary to get the last word in. What’s important is to state your point and listen to the other person’s point and then respond. In the case of an agent provocateur, it’s important not to allow yourself to be drawn off topic into pointless quarrels.

    I’m enjoying reading your blog. I hope you’ll keep posting.

    Joseph Thornley

    January 16, 2007 at 9:37 pm

  4. As here, through this exorcise, we have found Joe to be totally namby pamby. But ironically, we think he’s a true leader in all this messianic hoopla head-up-your-ass Kool-Aid-induced PR blog fad. We suspect a lot of copy coming from him in the future.

    Stay tuned.

    Sincerely,

    Amanda Chapel
    Managing Editor
    Strumpette

    Amanda Chapel

    January 16, 2007 at 10:05 pm

  5. Hi Joseph,

    I’m glad you’re enjoying reading my blog. There’s certainly more to come.

    My question re Strumpette was more tongue in cheek than anything. You’re absolutely right that a reasoned, open-minded, dialogue will get you further in the long run than cheap accusations – I don’t believe you’re ‘namby pamby’ ;-).

    Jonathan Dunn

    January 17, 2007 at 9:18 am

  6. The most “just don’t get it” comment I have heard recently was from a senior ad agency person who said “People don’t really spend their time discussing products online do they?”

    I think my wife and I kind of mumbled a “yes, actually they do” and quickly changed the subject.

    Douglas Walker

    January 19, 2007 at 3:37 pm


Leave a Reply

