MarComedy: Don’t make me laugh

For what tickles my fancy in media, communications and life in general.

A Marcomedy Reader (or stimulating the old grey matter)

with 7 comments

Tip of the hat (and top o’ the mornin’) to Michael O’Connor Clarke for his Want to be good at PR? Then READ more post. He’s absolutely right that it takes a curious and absorbent mind to make the grade in PR (or marketing or sales). The post also made me take stock of my reading habits. So I present: A Marcomedy Reader.

Websites I read:

These are sites that I visit regularly, if not daily. I find that more and more the web is my go-to source for info (guess I’m just one of the herd there).

globeandmail.com – for Canadian news and perspective.

cbc.ca – see above.

the star.com – for local news.

Marketingmag.ca (also the Marketing Daily) – for Canadian Marketing news.

Economist.com – for insight and analysis on global affairs.

bbc.co.uk – for global perspective and football (the old skool kind) news.

guardian.co.uk – for insight and commentary (see their decent podcast roster).

canoe.ca – for sports and entertainment news.

the superficial.com – for celeb gossip dished out with biting sarcasm.

Fark.com – for a good survey of the irreverent, inane and intriguing.

newsvine.com – for interesting news, politics and tech tidbits.

Blogs I read:

Too many to mention (and so much link love would make me look like a gigolo), but check out the CanuckPR toolbar and you’ll get a good idea of my starting point.

Newspapers I read:

– The Globe & Mail – I mostly just get the Saturday edition as I read the website during the week. I find the Focus section to be of particular value.

The National Post – To see how the other half think. I am left-leaning (for the most part and certainly when it comes to a social agenda) and turn to the Post for the other side’s views.

Magazines I read:

– Marketing mag – The go-to source for Canadian marketing industry news.

Strategy mag – see above (minus to go-to…).

– The Economist – I don’t get The Economist every week. I usually pick it up when there are special reports on topics of interest. But it is hands-down my favourite magazine. Not just for its penetrating analysis, but also for its surprisingly wicked sense of humour.

Maclean’s – For good Canadian political and social reporting.

Mojo – In my view, the best music magazine going.

Books on my bedside table:

I generally like to switch between a work of non-fiction and work of fiction. Right now, I’m reading The Upside of Down by Thomas Homer-Dixon.

Recently, I’ve also read:

The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson

The Double by Jose Saramago

Naked Conversations by Shel Israel & Robert Scoble

The Colony of Unrequited Dreams by Wayne Johnston (btw. possibly the one of the finest book titles I’ve ever come across)

This is by no means an exhaustive list. There are many websites I read frequently (CNN, Google News, AdAge, ESPNSoccernet, etc…) and haven’t included and there are several magazine (Atlantic Monthly, Fast Company, Canadian Business, Toronto Life etc…) that I pick up when they catch my attention. You’ll notice that the bulk of my reading is from quite traditional media sources. I don’t claim to be a trend-setter or a "sophisticated bohemian" (I’ll leave that to others). I’m certainly a fan of the irreverent, the amusing or the oracular but I like to know the big picture. I do, though, have a few sources I go to when I want to get some dirt under my fingernails.

Now, what’s on your reading list?

Tags: , ,

Written by Jonathan Dunn

March 11, 2007 at 5:44 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent stuff, Jonathan – and your reading list closely aligns with mine. I’d add Reddit to the list of (too-)regularly visited sites – but I’m trying to break my Reddit habit 🙂

    On the night stand right now:
    – The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger (finished this a few weeks ago, actually, but it’s still sitting there. Awesome, moving, intelligent, surprising).
    – Nobody’s Fool – Richard Russo (Just finished it. Not his best. Depressing).
    – Punk Marketing – Laermer & Simmons (was sent to me as a freebie, so I feel morally obliged to slug through it)
    – Gates of Fire – Steven Pressfield (about to re-read this epic, fictionalised account of the battle of Thermopylae, knowing that it’s unlikely I’ll get a chance to see “300” on the big screen)
    – The Possibility of an Island – Michel Houellebecq (occupying the official high-brow book slot, making me feel less guilty about gorging on the Pressfield)

    Michael O'Connor Clarke

    March 12, 2007 at 4:07 pm

  2. Michael,

    Thanks for your thoughts. Gates of Fire sounds like a good pick as does The Time Traveller’s wife. They may find a place at my bed-side.

    I’ve generally given up on the overly high-brow. There’s enough good, non-pretentious lit out there…I think it also has something to do with one too many humbling and frustrating encounters with Umberto Eco.

    I did, also, recently re-read Blockbusters and Trade Wars by Peter Grant & Chris Wood. It could use a bit of an update as a result of web and digital rights issues, but still remains an interesting survery on the commoditization, distribution and protection of cultural products.

    J

    Jonathan Dunn

    March 13, 2007 at 9:49 am

  3. Ok. Now I got to know what this means?
    Punk Marketing – Laermer & Simmons (was sent to me as a freebie, so I feel morally obliged to slug through it)
    Slug? Slug! That’s ridiculous. This is a book that has drawings and sidebars and fun plus useful and frolicking information. I will not accept slug.
    So there.

    Laermer

    Laermer

    March 18, 2007 at 9:56 am

  4. I think it also has something to do with one too many humbling and frustrating encounters with Umberto Eco

    I haven’t given up on Eco yet, but I have been damn close too many times to really justify trying anymore… 😉

    My list is close to yours but with way too many marketing e-newsletters thrown in to list (oh, and I don’t get a daily paper – I like trees :))

    Tamera Kremer

    March 22, 2007 at 4:29 pm

  5. Thanks for commenting Laermer. I’m sure Michael has a good reason for his comments. Perhaps he’ll provide you with an answer. Sorry it took so long for your comment to appear. It got caught in my spam filter.

    Jonathan Dunn

    March 22, 2007 at 4:42 pm

  6. And it took me far too long to pick up this comment, as I’ve been deliberately cutting my ego-surfing back to once a month.

    “Slug” wasn’t particularly intended as a pejorative there, Monsieur Laermer – although I have to confess that, now that I’ve finished the book, parts of it were indeed a slug. A trudge, even. Other parts made my heart sing with joy at the wonderful rightness of the points being made. A curate’s egg, but well worth a slug.

    Michael O'Connor Clarke

    April 19, 2007 at 3:26 pm

  7. slug and trudge seem a bit harsh for a book that’s only meant to amuse and inform. But I am glad the heart sang. Curate, egg, worthy, slug! (That’s my effort at a poem.)
    Laermer

    Laermer

    April 25, 2007 at 11:22 pm


Leave a Reply

