MarComedy: Don’t make me laugh

For what tickles my fancy in media, communications and life in general.

Misc Personal News and Links

leave a comment »

There is a good reason for the lack of posts lately. There’s been a maelstrom of activity, the end result of which is that I have a new job. As of today, I’m coordinating communications (along with marketing, some biz dev and account support) for a small but successful mobile marketing and solutions company.

No doubt, this will start to find its way into my blog posts. But, for now, I’m just excited to have a new job where I can really sink my teeth into the work, build and drive my own initiatives and be the master of my own success.

To satisfy the link-hungry out there, here are some neat stories and tidbits that I’ve come across over the past week or so:

1. Hey Jude. How do you take your latte?: Paul McCartney has been unveiled as the first signing for the music label of Starbucks.

2. BBC Remains Ad Free:  The BBC has decided they won’t (yet) sell ad real estate on their website as it might violate the impartiality (or the impression of impartiality) of the site. Interestingly, check out the pop-up that shows what the website might look like if there were ads on it. I’d suggest those companies that are featured in the mock-up are among the top prospects for ad space and this pop-up is now being used as a sales tool.

3. Classic Compaq Commercials: I came across a compilation of the commercials John Cleese did for Compaq back in the ’80’s. Brilliantly funny. Always on message. Very creative. One of my favourite comedians of all time. What’s not to like? As a bonus, the compilation (see related in the side-bar) also has spots designed for internal viewing among Compaq’s dealer network. I believe the spots were done by Ogilvy.

4. Also, Ogilvy just received high praise at the Marketing Awards as its much-talked about "Evolution" spot for Dove won Best in Show. Couldn’t agree more.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Written by Jonathan Dunn

April 2, 2007 at 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

