MarComedy: Don’t make me laugh

For what tickles my fancy in media, communications and life in general.

A new project

with 2 comments

I’ve launched this blog as a project to help me explore and understand my fascination with the power of language.

Specifically, I’m intrigued by the role language plays in media, marketing, public relations, politics. But I will not exclude the impact of language in everyday life as there, just as in the other areas, language is our most powerful tool for informing and influencing our comprehension of, and interaction with, each other and the world around us.

As I read over that last paragraph it sounds rather grand. I am under no illusion that I come at this as an amateur. I’ve worked in Communications, in one form or another, for my entire professional career. But other than a philosophy degree that included a number of courses on language (and put a premium on clarity and persuasion), I have no formal training on the subject. What I do posses is a good intuitive grasp of how words can or should be used and how they act as sign posts pointing us towards particular meanings, contexts or ideas.

In this space I will often operate at a very granular level, looking at how particular phrasings, inclusions, exclusions and intentions impact what we can, or are supposed to, take from a piece of communication.

I hope this provides some context for what is to come.

Tags: ,

Written by Jonathan Dunn

June 2, 2007 at 6:43 pm

Posted in Context

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “the role language plays in media, marketing, public relations, politics.”

    A great topic for a blog, Jonathan. I’ve subscribed. I’m looking forward to being part of this conversation.

    Joseph Thornley

    June 2, 2007 at 8:02 pm

  2. Thanks Joe. Hope to offer meaty points for discussion. At least there shouldn’t be a lack of material.

    Jonathan Dunn

    June 3, 2007 at 7:46 pm


Leave a Reply

